So, I’ve spent the last few hours doing something that ultimately now will have no use to my project.

A while back, Professor had suggested I stick to using omeka.net rather than omeka.org to manage my collection. Although initially I decided to follow this advice, I was endeared by the idea of making my website look pretty. I recently discovered that there’s not much I can do to play around with the coding of your website on omeka.net.

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 12.50.27 PM

This disappointed me, as I had really wanted to play around with the coding to create an attractive, original looking website that would actually draw in audiences. So I decided to give omeka.org another go. I still had the ammps server that I had previously installed, it was just a matter of figuring out how to get it to open the admin and host pages.

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 12.19.41 PM

I was still receiving the same blank page as the last time so I googled it.

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 12.24.59 PM

Apparently all I had to do was type a command into my Terminal… but it turns out I didn’t have a Terminal. So I googled it again and found another tool I could install.

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 12.29.29 PM

After doing that, I plugged in the command.

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 12.30.41 PM

And of course received an error. So I went on the ioncube site as suggested by iTerm.

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 12.32.58 PM

I couldn’t figure out what to download. Ammps did not seem to mentioned, and I couldn’t find anything on the ampps website about this either. I also didn’t want to waste time contacting ioncube. So I googled the error I had received to see if anyone else had found a similar solution.

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 12.41.37 PM

I went through a lot of different forum threads, and there didn’t seem to be any conclusive solution. I tried to do what this guy (^) said with the quotes but it didn’t help, and it seemed that problems that follow are never-ending.

I googled something else at that point, I don’t remember what, and I came across this:

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 12.56.06 PM

That got me thinking that perhaps I should look for alternatives to Omeka to host my collection. So I looked at some reviews, and this one in particular – including the comments at the bottom – pretty much made up my mind for me: Omeka and its Peers.

So that’s the simplified gist of it. After spending a couple of unproductive hours on this, I’ve decided to stick to Omeka.net, and create a simple, unexceptional-looking website.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

